Richard Spanton Jr is featured on Bob Vila

Copperstone Inn | Richard Spanton Jr (Built 1858 Est. 2008)
By: Richard Spanton Jr

Copperstone Inn in November 2007 (entire home is natural local limestone)
Restoring an 1850’s limestone home and adding 7000 SF http://www.copperstoneinn.com

Our project started in July, 2006 with an old Limestone Farm house built in 1858 with an addition from early 20th century. My wife and I embarked on a journey of hard work, learning and patience. Of course my wife will tell you that I have absolutely no patience but am the hardest worker she knows. I think I have gained an understanding of patience now though. As you follow the project, you will understand. There is so much to go over, so if your interested, be patient and hang on for the ride.

We will start out from the beginning and a little story about us. My wife and I have this dream of living on a farm and raising our yet to be born children. We are in our early 30’s and own a construction company. We decided to buy a home and a 60 acre parcel of property in my hometown Rockton, IL in 2005. Our original goal was to have an apple orchard and pumpkin patch along with raising alpaca and horses. This is still a main priority but was sidetracked due to the Inn project. So after being in our house for about a month, I realized there was this quaint yet masculine Limestone home next door. While driving by the home one day in Dec 2005, I said to my wife, ” You know if that ever sells, we have to buy it”. The next week there was a sign in the yard “For Sale by Owner”. It was fate, but the problem was that I was saying that for 5 years down the road. Well, not to lose out on an opportunity we bought the place So at this point, we owned 2 homes within 500 feet of eachother and had to come up with an idea of what to do. Well, I wanted to restore the old home no matter what. I have always loved the old Limestone solid structures of the 19th century and before. Our town Rockton has probably 100 homes and businesses. So my wife says, “What now?” I said, “I don’t know, lets build a Bed and Breakfast, to go along with our Apple Orchard”. Time lapse 2 years and we are here, in the 4th quarter as I say. We are almost finished with the project and cannot wait until it is done. We hope to be done by April, 2008 and open this Summer once landscaping is done. Enough rambling, lets get to the project.

Thanks for your interest.

Richard Spanton Jr.
Owner